Still Reaching

After many years of staying home getting to raise my son, and not needing to work. The money I would have been making would have gone to child care, which seems kinda redundant. Now that my son is older and the economy has changed I need to work just so we can get by. These are some of the interviews I had.

Interviews:

Greenwood Senior Center March 2016

Applied for a volunteer position, interviewed, was hired as prep-cook for the lunch program.

The Home Depot June 2016

Applied online​, got called back by a recruiter, did two different interviews, was hired as a cashier. Went to orientation, worked full-time in Seattle.

Kroger August 2016

Ended up in Marion Illinois Kroger held a job fair walk in interview event. I stood in line with 100 other people and was one of 12 to be hired on the spot.

Kmart September 2016

Simple quick hired as a cashier full time till store closed in December 2016.

City Market November 2016

Answered questions about how to promote a grocery item, I chose a box of cereal.

City Market March 2017

Was contacted by City Market/King Soopers recruiter did same questions as before, even the cereal one.

Walgreens March 2017

Went in did an assessment test, got called did interview, answered questions about how to handle customers.

Community Budget Center April 2017

Walked in applied, talked to manager, was explained to about it being non-profit board run. Came in for interview answered questions about team effort.

Murdoch’s April 2017

Three people asking various questions about who I am, what my experiences are. Why I moved so much, and the icing on the cake, “What does the golden rule mean to you.” *isn’t that a religious based question?*

After a rash of interviews I am still looking for something, I search and apply everyday.

Now, we are trying to get into a house, with a roommate, because overall it will be cheeper for all of us to share a house. Instead of each paying for separate apartments.

The thing that kills us in doing this is coming up with the deposit, those of us that live pay check to pay check go without​ when the money runs out. It’s simple on paper you get paid, you pay your rent, utilities, transportation costs. Then you get by on what’s left for food, clothing and the unexpected. (like your kid get a stomach virus for three days) which leads to extra laundry. An expenses you weren’t planning on.

I look for and try to take advantage of all the community programs, food banks, commoties distribution, thrift stores ect… However the timing and locations of these events are not always convient.

I don’t like having to ask for help, but sometimes it’s necessary.

https://www.gofundme.com/need-to-rent-a-home

I also wrote about being homeless, and right now I am doing everything possible not be homeless again.

Thank you for reading this and thank you for sharing and passing along my story.

https://cch217.wordpress.com/2016/04/08/reach/

And if you want to know about me.

https://cch217.wordpress.com/2017/05/10/the-quick-history-of-me/

Thank you again 💙

Leave a Reply

